The following post by veteran journalist Ding Buzhi (丁补之) was deleted from Sina Weibo sometime before 8:07 p.m. yesterday, November 11, 2012. The post shared speculation from international media about the new lineup of the Politburo Standing Committee of the Chinese Communist Party, which has not yet been formally announced. [More on deleted posts at the WeiboScope Search, by the Journalism and Media Studies Centre].

The personnel decisions and propaganda work of the Party can somehow admit the tongues of the hostile forces [of the West] . . . The attached image comes from the web. Our Party congress is not yet completed, but perhaps we can have a small discussion of state affairs. I provide this only so we can engage in a bit of commentary.

Here is the image attached to the post, which includes a translation of international media coverage of the leadership succession. At the top of the image the Politburo Standing Committee is listed out as follows: Xi Jinping, Li Keqiang, Zhang Dejiang, Yu Zhengsheng, Liu Yunshan, Zhang Gaoli, Wang Zhishan.

The original Chinese-language post follows:


NOTE: All posts to The Anti-Social List are listed as “permission denied” in the Sina Weibo API, which means they were deleted by Weibo managers, not by users themselves.

David Bandurski

CMP Director

Latest Articles